“Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.” – Ibn Battuta

Welcome to my blog!

I first started traveling the summer I graduated from college. I was your typical backpacker, slugging my huge bag through train stations in Europe. It took one trip, and I was hooked. My twenties were spent in countries my parents feared. I studied in rural China. I (attempted) to learn Spanish in Guatemala. I lived on overnight buses and overfilled trains. Life was travel, and I never felt so alive as I did sitting on a chicken bus in El Salvador. I had found my calling.

Then, I turned 30. I finally had a career. I had disposable income. I didn’t need to sit on stinky buses for 12 hours with 4 people in an old school bus seat to save twenty dollars. But I also didn’t want to lose that connection to the locals. Hours of searching travel blogs for how to combine this local feel with slightly more comfortable surroundings weren’t yielding results. I found blogs on expensive resorts. I found blogs on backpacking travel. Where were the blogs for the thirty-somethings like myself who did not enjoy the sterility of resort-life, but also did not want to stay in a hostel anymore listening to my bunkmate vomit into a trash can with thirteen other people? My desire for travel hadn’t left, but my desire for a good night’s sleep was taking over. So I decided to start my own blog to hopefully fill that void.

I just turned 32. I have been to 35 countries in the last 13 years. I struggled through graduate school and internship with little to no money and continued to travel. I am always asked how. Why. Where. When. I hope to answer your questions: how did you afford it? How did you find that little city in Vietnam you love so much? What tours did you love, or hate? How do you poop squatting over those asian toilets? Which backpack is best for me? Can I drink the water?  I leave you with the great words of Robert Louis Stevenson.

“For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

Jenna is a 32 year old coffee lover who spends much of her life on a plane, train, or automobile. You can email her directly at coffeemeetsair@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

